1/6/15: All About Eve


Eve

[Aristocratic] “Those of you who do not attend the Apple Cinemas in Waterbury CT Classic Series or know anything of the UConn OLLI Program, it is perhaps necessary to introduce myself. My name is Paulie Marino. My native habitat is classic film. In it, I toil not; neither do I spin. I am a host & Blogger & [in-struck-TOUR] instructor. I am essential to the classics. So many people know me. I wish I did. I wish someone would tell me about me. If nothing else, there’s applause… like waves of love pouring over the footlights. [Claptrap extended arms] Ugh, I detest cheap sentiment anyway.” At our 2014 Academy Awards Party, Ralph Famiglietti presented me with the Best Motion Picture Critic Oscar. “I will regard this great honor, not so much as an award for what I have achieved, but a standard to hold against what I have yet to accomplish. ‘What should I tell Stephen Spielberg?’, you are likely thinking. Just give him my number. I’ll tell him myself. In July, I turned 55. FIVE-FIVE! That slipped out. I hadn’t quite made up my mind to admit it. Now I suddenly feel as if I’ve taken all my clothes off. This is my 2nd career. I 2011, I was an IT Business Architect for The Hartford making 6-figures. I’ll admit, I have seen better days, and now I can be had for the price of a cocktail, like a salted peanut. I’m a junkyard. I haven’t got a union. I’m slave labor here in my 2nd career. A man’s life is funny: There’s one career all males have in common, whether we like it or not – being a man. And sooner or later, we’ve got to work at it, no matter how many other careers we’ve had or wanted. And in the last analysis, nothing’s any good unless you can be happy that you’re the man you turned out to be.” Which I am!

Eve - RaveEve - ClassicsEve - OLLIEve - OscarsEve - RalphEve - OscarEve - SpielbergEve - HIGEve - CocktailEve - PeanutEve - Junk

[Normal] In Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s All About Eve, Margo Channing (Bette Davis) also has to deal with a major career shift as a brilliant but aging stage actress. She welcomes Eve Harrington (Anne Baxter) who longs to be her since the theatre is all about Margo; maybe someday, All About Eve. Margo’s best friend Karen (Celeste Holm) is married to playwright Lloyd Richards (Hugh Marlowe), whose current play stars Margo. Her younger boyfriend Bill Sampson (Gary Merrill) is a director. George Sanders won Best Supporting Actor as condescending theatre critic [aristocratic] Addison DeWitt, and [normal] Thelma Ritter is Margo’s cutting maid Birdie. And although, to my knowledge, only I have documented this: Marilyn Monroe (Miss Casswell), who enters the film at Bill’s birthday party, clearly represents Gone with the Wind in her small role. There are a number of distinct examples of this:

  • It’s anachronistic but Max offers Miss Casswell an audition to replace Margo’s sister. Olivia de Havilland played Melanie and was Joan Fontaine’s sister. However Joan, a noted stage performer who once said “I hope I’ll die on stage at the age at 105, playing Peter Pan.”, didn’t hit Broadway until after All About Eve was released. Sibling rivalry is implied in All About Eve, but in real life it was much worse. She also said she wanted to die “at age 108, flying around the stage as Peter Pan, as a result of my sister cutting the wires.”. It should be noted that, at the party, Addison says. “Dear Margo. You were an unforgettable Peter Pan – you must play it again, soon.”.
  • Margo’s response, upon hearing about Miss Casswells audition, is “She looks like she might burn down a plantation.”.
  • Birdie walks down the stairs at the party carrying the sable coat. Miss Casswell says “Sable!! Now there’s something a girl could make sacrifices for.”. Max responds “Did she say sable or Gable?”. Casswell: “Either one.”
  • As a butler goes by at the party, Miss Casswell says “Oh waiter!”. DeWitt: “That isn’t a waiter, my dear. That’s a butler.” Miss Casswell: “Well, I can’t yell, ‘Oh, butler.’, can I? Maybe somebody’s name is Butler.”
  • In Party Stairs Scene, Miss Casswell is surrounded by men, who get things for her, some flirting w/ her ala Scarlett at the Tara Party.
  • There are 2 more references to Gone With the Wind in All About Eve, but they’re not related to Marilyn/Miss Casswell:
    • Near beginning of the film, Margo talks about “all these plays about love-stahved Suth’n women”, a not-so-obvious but definite reference to Victor Fleming’s masterpiece.
    • Vivien Leigh liked to wear fur coats, like the sable the Hollywood actress wore to Bill’s party.

Eve - BetteEve - EveEve - CelesteEve - HughEve - BillEve - AddisonEve - BirdieEve - MarilynEve - GWTW

All About Eve won 5 additional Oscars including Best Picture, Director, and Screenplay (Mankiewicz) in ‘51 at the 23rd Academy Awards. More importantly, it was nominated for a record 14. In ’98, Titanic tied that record & tied Ben-Hur and Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King with 11 wins. 3 films have won the Big Five – Best Picture, Director, Actor, Actress, and Screenplay (all 3 of which were Adapted): It Happened One Night (‘35), One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (‘76), and The Silence of the Lambs (’92). Walt Disney won 22 Oscars; Edith Head’s 8 are the most by a woman. Katharine Hepburn has 4 Best Actress Oscars, John Ford 4 Best Directors, and Daniel Day-Lewis 3 Best Actors.

Eve - JLMEve - TitanicEve - BenEve - ROTKEve - IHONEve - CuckooEve - SilenceEve - WaltEve - HeadEve - KateEve - FordEve - DDL

[Aristocratic] Thank you all. “I’ll never forget this night as long as I live; and I’ll never forget you for making it possible. For me, this is The Theatuh. What book of rules says The Theatuh exists only within some ugly buildings crowded into one square mile of New York City? Wherever there’s magic & make-believe & an audience, there’s theatre. Slow curtain…THE END. And now, for my Encore, I offer you the trailer to Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s All About Eve. My second curtain call will be to remind you to IMMEDIATELY stream this 4 Star motion picture on Netflix! [Bette] “So fasten your seatbelts, it’s gonna be a bumpy night!”

Eve - B'Way

Leave a Reply

